FRONT ROW: C. Ryan, H. Heslep, K. Kniepper, T. Morris, L. Cook, S. Simmons, B. Werling.
BACK ROW: P. Rinnni, L. Kopp, B. Dlugosz, R. Sandor, M. Mckercher, K. Gerbick,
K. Flaum, J. Fuller.

1995-1996 Shoremen Volleyball Team

TThe 1995-1996 Avon Lake volleyball team went 23-3 for the fall 1995 season, winning a Southwestern Conference championship with a 13-1 league record. The Shoregals also won three postseason games, claiming a district championship along the way.

Landing on the AII-SWC first team for the Shoregals were Sarah Simmons and Heather Heslep.

Kendra Flaum was voted to the AII-SWC second team. Simmons was voted the SWC MVP. Head coach Becky Werling was voted the SWC Coach of the Year honor.

Simmons (first team), Heslep (second team) and Flaum (honorable mention) were also honored in the All-Lorain County Division II voting. Simmons was voted the All-Lorain County Division II Player of the Year. Simmons was also awarded the Normandy All-tournament team MVP. Heslep was voted to the all-tournament team.

Simmons was also named to the All-district first team, SWC Scholar Athlete, All-Ohio second team, and All-Lorain County academic team. She was voted on to the Lorain County all-star game, the District 3 all-star team and the state all-star team. Simmons capped off her high school career by winning the prestigious Miss Volleyball of Lorain County award.

Heslep was named to the All-district second team and Lorain County All-Academic team.

Flaum was voted to the Lorain County and District 3 all-star games. She was also a member of the Lorain All-Academic team.

Julie Fuller was voted to the Lorain County all-star game.

Other Shoregals landing on the Lorain County All-Academic team were Cate Ryan, Rebecca Sandor, Kari Kniepper, Myriah McKercher and Lisa Kopp.

Distric 3 All-Academic members included Heslep, Simmons, Flaum, Sandor, Kniepper, Kopp, McKercher and Ryan.

Simmons (Offensive MVP), Flaum (Defensive MVP) and Heslep (Pride, Hustle and Desire) were voted to the top team honors.

© Avon Lake Sports Hall Of Fame