LEFT TO RIGHT, TOP ROW: Coach Gratz, Coach Reynolds. T. Kiser, A. Ambrecht, D. Bergenstein, J. Newcomb, H. Gammel, B. Dunham, P. Kehler, C. Boehm, T. Hasick, Coach Brugger. THIRD ROW: G. Freyfogle, F. Barnes, T. Goins, S. Sherwood, R. Fjeldstad, D. Merner, D. Gerbick, J. Mitchell, G. Pace, G. Hasick, B. Emerick, P. Koster. SECOND ROW: T. Gehring, B. Schaeffer, J. Greentree, T. Kenny, D. Wozniak, J. Porter, J. Triska, R. Early, P. Hoxie, W. Kick, F. Vander Sluis. FRONT TOW: R. Thompson, R. Saltray, C. Zemanek, G. Leonard, K. Cain, G. Pavlovcic, D. Chaplin, J. Harris, T. Owen.

1961 ALHS Football Team

The Avon Lake football team from the 1961 season (1961-1962 school year) was co-champions (along with Huron) of the Lakeland Conference, the first season Avon Lake competed in the league. Avon Lake finished 8-1, giving coach Jim Gratz his sixth straight winning season. Huron finished as a state-ranked team. Kevin Caine was voted Avon Lake's ouststanding back that season. Jim Harris was voted outstanding lineman. George Pavlovcic was the team captain.

© Avon Lake Sports Hall Of Fame