First Row (left-right): Brian Kauffman, Kevin Johnson, Jayson Finley, Steve Walters
2nd Row: Chris Helbert, Aaron Barkhurst, Chris Heslep, Bill Lawton, Brent Lawton, Mike Doyle
3rd Row: Head Coach George Mallias, Mike Perry, Matt Packard, Brant Langdon, Carson Drake, Tom Port

1998-1999 Boys Soccer Team

Opposing teams knew they had a tough challenge when they stepped onto the soccer field to take on the 1998-1999 Shoremen boys soccer team. All but two left the field with losses.

The team's 18-1-1 season remains the best in Shoremen soccer history. Strong at every position on the field, Avon Lake averaged three goals a game and held its opponents to a .75 goals against average. No opponent scored more than two goals in a single game, and half of Avon Lake's wins were shutouts.

The Shoremen opened the season with a pair of victories over Berea and Fairview. A 1-1 tie against Revere in game three would be the team's only blemish. Avon Lake went undefeated the rest of the regular season. The Shoremen clinched the program's first-ever Southwestern Conference championship with a perfect 7-0 record. All but two of those wins were earned by a one-goal margin.

The Shoremen swept through the opening rounds of the playoffs and earned Avon Lake's first ever district championship in boys soccer with a 2-0 shutout over North Olmsted. The memorable season ended in the regional semifinal round with a 2-1 loss to Toledo St. John.

Head coach George Mallias received a Lorain County Coach of the Year award. Assistant coach Don Anderson was named Lorain County Assistant Coach of the Year. Team MVP Chris Heslep was named Lorain County Player of the Year and received first team All-Southwestern Conference, All-Greater Cleveland and All-Lorain County awards. Matt Packard earned first team AIlSouthwestern Conference and All-Lorain County honors and received All-Greater Cleveland honorable mention.

The team's Most Outstanding Defensive Player Award went to Greg Jones, who also earned first team All-Lorain County, second team All-Southwestern Conference and All-Greater Cleveland honorable mention. Avon Lake's Most Outstanding Offensive Player Award was presented to Aaron Barkhurst, who also earned second team AlI-SWC and All-Lorain County awards in addition to All-Greater Cleveland honorable mention. Mike Perry earned the team Coach's Award in addition to All-Lorain County honorable mention and was the team's scholar athlete.

Tim Guenther and Chris Helbert each earned All-SWC honorable mention and second team all-county honors. Guenther also received All-Greater Cleveland honorable mention. Goalkeeper Brant Langdon was awarded All-Lorain County honorable mention as well.

Jameei Chohan, Mike Doyle, Carson Drake, Jayson Finley, Kevin Johnson, Brian Kauffman, Bill Lawton, Brent Lawton, Victor Oviedo, Tom PorL and Steve Walters also contributed to the team's success .

© Avon Lake Sports Hall Of Fame