First row (left-right): Coach J. Vajentic, D. Sabo, M. Purney, D. Wichman, P. Schillinger, J. Duffy, S. Guercio, C. Christman, A. Dillon, Coach P. Reynolds.
Second Row - Coach D. Soltis, Coach D. Dlugosz, T. Meyer, D. Greenwell, D. Rader, K. Zwolenid, M. Needham, A. Perry, J. Metzo, Coach M. Wightman.

Third Row - coach B. Tomaszewski, B. Kauffman, J. McCowan, K. Riggs, M. Pivato, J. regan, P. Angotti, B. Petty, Coach R. Dematte.
Fourth Row - C. Persinger, R. Mitchell, D. Massey, S. Tyler, K. Johnson, J. Zinsmeister, M. Andro, J. Toth.
Fifth Row - M. Kovacs, B. Houston, D. Pate, J. Cole, A. Hobar, E. Moore, D. Schindler.

1985-86 ALHS Football Team

The 1985-86 Shoremen football team became the first in ALHS history to that time to win 10 games. After winning the SWC championship, the Shoremen qualified for the state playoffs for only the second time in school history. They rolled over Copley by a score of 27-8, before losing in the second round to eventual state champion Galion in a close, exciting game.

The Shoremen were coached by Don Soltis, who ended his eight year coaching career at ALHS with one of his finest seasons, finishing with a 10-2 record. Leading the way for Avon Lake were eight 1st team Southwest Conference performers, including team co-MVP’s Doug Wichman and Paul Schillinger. Others on the 1st team all-SWC were Ken Johnson, Mike Kovacs, Eric Moore, Joel Regan, Shawn Tyler, and Joe Zinsmeister. These 1st team players were joined by five other players named to the 2nd team SWC including John Duffy, Dale Greenwell, Al Hobar, Jim McCowan, and Dan Schindler.

© Avon Lake Sports Hall Of Fame